

# **News Release**

25 November, 2021

## Judiciary deploys 48 recently appointed Magistrates, 17 transferred

The Judiciary has deployed 48 newly appointed Judicial Officers at the rank of Magistrate Grade One to different stations across the Country in a bid to take Judicial services closer to people. The changes have also seen 17 Magistrates transferred.

In the new deployments, Goma, Kangulumira, Gomba, Mbirizi, Kibuku, Nakisunga and Lamwo Courts have been fully operationalized with the posting of Magistrates Grade One.

Similarly, Courts at Amuru, Apala, Kalungu and Bugembe have now received substantive Magistrates. In the first of its kind, some Magistrates have been attached to the chambers of Justices and Judges following the review of the Judicial Structure that elevated the position of Research Officers to the position of Magistrate Grade One.

The Chief Registrar, Sarah Langa Siu, in her memo stated that the deployments take immediate effect while the transfers are effective January 01, 2022. The Chief Registrar is mandated to effectively oversee judicial operations of all Courts.

The deployments came after a swearing-in ceremony for the newly appointed Magistrates which was presided over by the Hon. Chief Justice, Alfonse Chigamoy Owiny – Dollo at the Judiciary headquarters on Wednesday (November 24).

At the swearing-in ceremony, the Chief Justice charged the new magistrates to support Judiciary's goal of "transforming of the Judiciary landscape, image and place in the country. "Go out there knowing that you carry a banner and mantle that says Justice for all," said the Chief Justice. He further unpacked the Judicial Oath for the new Magistrates. "The Judicial Oath and Judicial Code of Conduct should therefore be your guardrail and source of inspiration if you are to perform effectively in accordance with the demands of your judicial office."

He emphasized the need to uphold; Independence, Impartiality, Integrity, Propriety, Equality, Competence and Diligence, the six major principles enshrined in the Judicial Code of Conduct.

The Deputy Chief Justice, Richard Buteera, advised the magistrates to ensure that they do the right thing in the discharge of their duties. "Don't be surprised that there are

complaints against you, your worry should be, are the complaints valid." He also cautioned them against acts of corruption.

The Principal Judge, Dr Flavian Zeija, called for integrity and. "If you know you have come to steal in the Judiciary, withdraw your oath. You will not survive here, because there is no compromise." He equally cautioned them on absenteeism because it is not tolerated.

The Chief Registrar said as pioneer appointees in the rank under the Administration of the Judiciary Act, 2020, the new Magistrates have a great responsibility bestowed upon them. "The Judiciary has become very attractive, many want to come in, the entry gate is narrow gate but the exit gate is wide, so guard your place by doing what is right," she said. She further appealed to the Magistrates to love the Judiciary Service and give it their full energy, time and talent; hate the vices that have undermined the Judiciary like corruption, absenteeism, laziness; and be the change they want to see in the Judiciary.

The appointment of the 48 brings the total number of Magistrates Grade One to 212.

### **ENQUIRIES**

**Karemani Jamson K.,** Public Relations Officer | **Sheila Wamboga,** Senior Communications Officer, E: jkaremani@judiciary.go.ug E: swamboga@judiciary.go.ug

#### Additional information

The core mandate of the Judiciary is adjudication which is performed by judicial officers of both the superior courts and the lower bench and supported by the administrative staff of varied categories. This mandate is spelt out under Article 126 of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda.

#### Vision

Justice for All

#### Mission

To efficiently and effectively administer justice

LIST OF DEPLOYMENTS AND TRANSFERS OF JUDICIAL OFFICERS - NOVEMBER 2021

#### A. DEPLOYMENTS

#### **NEW MAGISTRATES GRADE ONE**

SN	NAME	CURRENT STATION	NEW POSTING
1.	Ms Wemesa Caroline	NEW	Iganga

2.	Mr Obol Oroya Conrad	NEW	Paidha
3.	Mr Twogyeirwe Joshua	NEW	Masaka
4.	Mr Olupot Pascal	NEW	Kabale
5.	Ms Ariokot Esther Joyce	NEW	Lira
6.	Ms Tabaruka Racheal	NEW	Kabale
7.	Ms Namankati Annet	NEW	Fort Portal
8.	Ms Nassuna Sharon	NEW	
		NEW	Ntungamo
9.	Ms Acidri Bridget Mr Matanda Abubaker Hassan	NEW	Njeru Kibuku
10.			
11.	Ms Agelun Winifred	NEW	Nabweru
12.	Ms Nangobi Miria Jackie	NEW	Kasangati
13.	Ms Avako Specioza	NEW	Busia
14.	Ms Nalubowa Mary Gorretti	NEW	Civil Division (Chambers of
		A. (=) A. (	Justice Emmanuel Baguma)
15.	Mr Tusasirwe Jonard	NEW	Bushenyi
16.	Ms Nasasira Bridget	NEW	Masaka
17.	Ms Bamukunda Caroline	NEW	Kiboga
	Clinah		
18.	Ms Ayola Angela	NEW	Arua
19.	Mr Okiror Edmond Okwir	NEW	Mbarara
20.	Mr Muwonge William	NEW	Mbale (Chambers of Lady
			Justice Margaret Apiny)
21.	Ms Namwanje Rehmur	NEW	Luzira
22.	Ms Nakazzi Mary Goretti	NEW	Mbale
23.	Ms. Murungi Esther	NEW	Ibanda
24.	Ms Nyakato Moreen	NEW	Kumi
25.	Mr Nyero Patrick Reagan	NEW	Amuru
26.	Mr Magara Robert	NEW	Kapchorwa
27.	Ms Akello Rebecca	NEW	Supreme Court (Chambers of
			Lady Justice Percy Tuhaise)
28.	Mr Wamimbi Jonathan William	NEW	Apala
29.	Ms Kebirungi Natukunda Joy	NEW	Kamuli
30.	Ms Namudiba Sandra Agnes	NEW	Kalungu
31.	Ms Nakibuuka Fiona	NEW	Nakisunga
32.	Mr Mayanja Phillip Mukasa	NEW	Bushenyi
33.	Ms Nanyanzi Pamela Percis	NEW	Lira
	Mary		
34.	Ms Amongine Eva Oteu	NEW	Commercial Court (Chambers of
			Lady Justice Susan Abinyo)
35.	Mr Akoko Patrick Synclaire	NEW	Otuke
36.	Ms Kemigisha Millicent	NEW	Family Division (Chambers of
	-		Lady Justice Alice Komuhangi)
37.	Ms Naluyima Victoria	NEW	Masindi
38.	Ms Namayanja Victoria	NEW	Arua (Chambers of Justice Isah
			Serunkuma)
39.	Mr Ochieng Yafesi	NEW	Jinja
40.	Mr Wakayemba Martin	NEW	Rukungirri
	y	[	· 0

41.	Ms Kyoshabire Caroline	NEW	Kayunga
42.	Ms Afoyorwoth Winny	NEW	Bubulo
	Epiphany		
43.	Mr Babu Waiswa	NEW	Kyenjojo
44.	Mr Opio Francis	NEW	Lamwo
45.	Mr Busulwa Ivan	NEW	Iganga
46.	Ms Agumaasiimwe Damalie	NEW	Mityana
47.	Ms Mazimwe Lillian	NEW	Bugiri
48.	Ms Musiime Agnes	New	Jinja

## B. TRANSFERS

# MAGISTRATES GRADE ONE ON TRANSFER

SN	NAME	CURRENT STATION	NEW POSTING
1.	Mr. Rukundo Isaac	Kabale	Luwero
2.	Mr Nzwebe Phillip	Buhweju	Masaka
3.	Mr Ziraba Arthur	Masaka	Nabweru
4.	Ms Adong Suzan	Arua	Goma
5.	Mr Igga Adiru	Lira	Makindye
6.	Ms Acayo Rophine	Paidha	Kagulumira
7.	Ms Esther Nahirya	Nakifuma	Nakawa
8.	Mr Kiwanuka Hillary	Yumbe	Mubende
9.	Mr Gukina Peter	Koboko	Nakifuma
10.	Ms Sienna Owomugisha	Ibanda	Buganda Road
11.	Ms Zako Dorcas	Mbale Municipal Court	Mengo
12.	Ms Ninisima Marion	Mubende	LDC
13.	Mr Opit Christopher	Kapchorwa	Tororo
14.	Ms Kambedha Lydia	Jinja	Bugembe
15.	Ms Karungi Olga Doreen	Buganda Road	Gomba
16.	Ms Nambozo Sanula	Kayunga	Buganda Road
17.	Mr Ndiwalana Yunus	Iganga	Mbirizi